Child Care Providers

AB 1207 – California Child Care Providers: Mandated Reporter Training

Update: This Child Care Worker Training does satisfy the requirements of AB 1207

The Child Abuse Mandated Reporter Training California website team in association with the California Department of Social Services have developed a new online training for child care providers, working in a licensed child care facility. The new Mandated Reporter Training for Child Care Providers does now satisfy the requirements of AB 1207.

Followed by the general training module, the Child Care Providers module is a three hour training that includes eight sections. Each section will include practice test questions or vignettes.

At the conclusion of the training you will take a final exam which will test the information that you have learned during the training. Upon scoring an 80% or higher you will be able to fill out and print your Certificate of Completion. 

You will Learn
  • What the law requires of you as a mandated reporter
  • How to spot indicators of possible child abuse or neglect
  • How to talk to children about suspected abuse
  • How to make a report
  • What happens after a report is filed 
  • Special issues related to child abuse reporting for child care providers

The Child Care Providers training may take you up to 3 hours to complete. You will receive a certificate for your records upon completion of the training. 

Please Note

We have recently made changes to our website. The general training for mandated reporters is now a required prerequisite for all of the profession-specific trainings.

The general training is a one-time prerequisite and needs to be completed prior to completing the profession-specific training for the first time using the updated online platform, launched in December, 2018. The general training does not need to be retaken when you renew your profession-specific training certificate in subsequent years.

Altogether, the general training and the profession-specific trainings meet the training requirements of the California Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA), Education Code for school personnel, and Health and Safety Code for licensed child care providers.

General Training


The general training module should be taken by those who volunteer with children as well as a precursor training for other mandated reporters.

 4 Hours

Child Care Providers


This training will focus on specific situations and concerns related to the evaluation of child abuse in a child care setting.

 3 Hours

Exam
 


At the conclusion of the training you will take a final exam, which will test the information that you have learned during the training.

 0 - 1 Hour

Certificate
 


Upon scoring an 80% or higher you will be issued a certificate, which will serve as proof of your completion of this training.

What people are saying.

As a working mom with a 4-year old, I appreciated how simple and easy-to-use this training was. It made it very easy for me to get the certification I needed and helped me understand a very valuable subject matter. 

Melissa Zimmerman, parent and volunteer, Lincoln

Stop the Abuse.

If you suspect that a child is in
danger of abuse or neglect,
report it.
 

Take Action.

Discover ways you can be active
in the fight to end child abuse.